og prisen gik til…


læs gerne hele pressemeddelelsen herunder…


The winner of HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award 2018 is Daníel Bjarnason (Iceland) for his score to Hafsteinn Gunnar Sigurðsson feature film Under the Tree.

During an award ceremony at Nordische Botschaften in Berlin, the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award was given for the 8th time.

Unfortunately, Daníel Bjarnason was not present at the award ceremony, but artistic manager Edna Pletchetero accepted the beautiful statuette on his behalf, created and designed by the famous Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson and crafted by Icelandic goldsmith Kjartan Örn Kjartansson.
Representing the international jury, composer Christine Aufderdaar (Suisse) gave the award to the winner; the other members of the jury were Brian Satterwhite (USA) and Nuno Freire Malo (Portugal).

Nomination text:
This superb score  is a physical assault on the cinematic viewer which is wonderfully uncomfortable to experience. It provides this dark and twisted film with a unique layer of narrative that powerfully captures the broken souls of its characters. The musical brush strokes are highly original, totally unexpected, and functions exceptionally well as a film score. 

All of the nominees this year were outstanding, and it was difficult to single out one from the others; however, the jury agreed this artistry was so unique and visceral that it was our unanimous choice for the 2018 HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award. The winner is Daniel Bjarnason for Under the Three. 

Meet Daniel  

Following the great international branding of the term “Nordic Noir” and the popular wave of Nordic TV shows abroad, HARPA Nordic Film Music Days at the Nordische Botschaften offers the opportunity to present Nordic film- and mediacomposers to the film industry present at the Berlinale. Using the multiple opportunities of the Nordische Botschaften, HARPA Nordic Film Music Days also offers opportunities for capacity-building network meetings and workshops for Nordic film- and mediacomposers.

HARPA Nordic Film Music Days is supported by Nordic Film and Tv Foundation, Nordic Culture Fond and the Nordic Embassies of Berlin.

The other nominees for the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award 2018 were:

  • Kristian Selin Eidnes Andersen (Denmark) for his score for Amanda Kernell’s ‘Sameblood’. Meet Kristian 
  • Daníel Bjarnason (Iceland) for his score for Hafsteinn Gunnar Sigurðsson feature film ‘Under the Tree’.
  • Miska and Juri Seppä (Finland) for their score for Rike Jokela’s ‘Tatu and Patu’. Meet Miska and Juri
  • Henrik Skram (Norway) for his score for  Synne Teksum’s ‘Snøfall’
    Meet Henrik
  • Björn Olsson (Sweden) for his score for Johannes Nyholms ‘Jätten’
    Meet Björn


Since 2009, film composers from the five Nordic countries have met twice a year.
In order to divert more attention to Nordic film music, the HARPA Nordic Film Composers Award was created. Each of the Nordic countries has been given free reign in developping an individual profile, find collaborative partners and an arena for the award ceremony.

From 2010 through 2014, the prize has been handed out once in each of the Nordic countries in conjunction with a film festival. By convening, the film- and mediacomposers also exchange ideas and thoughts, and thereby strengthen the awareness and the working situation of the film- and media-composers in each country.
The founding partners in Nordic Film Composers Network are:

  • SKAP (The Swedish Society of Songwriters, Composers & Authors) & FST (Föreningen af Svenske Tonsättere)
  • ELVIS (Foreningen Populärauktorer in Finland), from 2018 The Finnish Society of Composers and Lyricists in cooperation with Music Finland
  • ISAC (The Icelandic Society of Authors & Composers, Iceland) & STEFF
  • NOPA (Norwegian Society of Composers and Lyricists), since 2018 assisted by Music Norway and Norsk Komponistforening.
  • BFM Danish organization for film- and media composers.

The winners of the HARPA award 2010 – 2014 and the prize of 10.000 euro have been:

  • 2010 Gothenburg Dani Strömbäck (Finland) for the music to the Finnish film “Letters to Father Jacob” (Finland)
  • 2011 Copenhagen Gaute Storaas (Norway) for the music to the Norwegian film “Elias og jakten på havets gull”
  • 2012 Reykjavik Fredrik Emilson (Sweden) for the music to the Swedish film “Kronjuvelarna”
  • 2013 Trondheim Tuomas Kantelinen (Finland) for the music to the Finnish film “Puhdistus” (“The Purge”).
  • 2014 Espoo Matti Bye (Sweden) for the music for the Swedish film “Faro”
  • 2016, Berlin Atli Örvarsson for his music for the film “Rams’ and Honor award to Icelandic Jóhann Jóhannsson.
  • 2017, Berlin and Cannes Sune Martin for his music for “Land of Mine” and Honor award to Bent Fabricius-Bjerre.

HARPA Nordic Film Music Days 2018 is carried out by:

  • Thor Joachim Haga, moderator and curator of the seminars, NORWAY
  • Halfdan E, filmcomposer and initiator of NFCN (chairman), DENMARK
  • Tine Tangestuen, executive manager and Ingrid Kindem, chairman, NORWAY
  • Staff from Nordische Botschaft and the other Nordic embassies, GERMANY/NORDIC COUNTRIES
  • Jonas Vebner and Reuben Saturo Fenemore, Music Norway, GERMANY/NORWAY
  • Videos of nominees are created by videoartist Tine Louise Kortermand, DENMARK with graphic design by Lillienfeld

see more at www.nordicfilmmusicdays.com